Please help me with this wrap pattern!

Ask and answer questions about knitting patterns.
Mei2012Saxons

Please help me with this wrap pattern!

Postby Mei2012Saxons » Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:41 pm

Hi!
I just started learning to knit garments and I've already encountered a bit of confusion with this pattern.

Here's a sample from the pattern (tied wrap, featured in Knit Simple magazine winter 2010/2011 issue):

Beg stockinette short row shaping:
Work as foll, maintaining slip st edge:
Next row (RS): Work 62 sts, w&t, work back.
Next row (RS): Work 56 sts, w&t, work back.
Next row (RS): Work 50 sts, w&t, work back.
(ultimately, it says)
Next row (RS): Work all 120 sts, closing the wraps.

My first question is: What does "work back" mean?

Second: Since I'm supposed to start shaping the stockinette short row, why do the instructions only say "Next row (RS)"? Is it inferred that I maintain a purl stitch on the wrong sides in between and this pattern just doesn't say to do so? (I warned you that I'm a novice! :oops: )

Third: When the pattern says to "work 50 sts," is it inferred that I simply knit the entire time? ><

Then the pattern similarly says,

Beg garter short row shaping
(With similar instructions, as follows...)
Next row (WS) work 46 sts, w&t, work back.
Next row (WS) Work 41 sts, w&t, work back.

So on and so forth.

So is it just inferred since this is the garter stitch that on the right side (RS) I simply knit the entire time?

Thanks for your time! ><

crafty grandma

Re: Please help me with this wrap pattern!

Postby crafty grandma » Tue Nov 22, 2011 2:41 pm

You're doing great for a novice with an advanced pattern. Your questions show you have a good understanding of pattern reading and a pretty good idea of what you need to do.